College of Business Holds 38th Annual Ockerman Awards Presentation

September 30, 2013  |  by Lauren Agnello

  • Jack Ampuja addresses the audience on "Post-Graduate Lessons in Life from a Grizzled Executive."

  • Accounting honorees and faculty

  • Finance honorees and faculty

  • Management honorees and faculty

  • Marketing honorees and faculty

  • Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., NU president, speaks during the awards ceremony.

On Sept. 29, the College of Business Administration held its annual Everett W. Ockerman Lecture and Awards Presentation at the Niagara Falls Country Club. The Ockerman Awards acknowledges all graduating students who have demonstrated academic excellence by possessing an overall GPA of 3.5 or higher. The faculty also chooses the top student in each of the majors of accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing for special recognition on graduation day.

The department of commerce established the Everett W. Ockerman Awards in 1976 in honor of Dr. Ockerman, a dedicated faculty member who began teaching after being discharged from the Army at the end of World War II.

Bohdan Pikas, professor of marketing, presented a bio on his colleague, Dr. Ockerman, explaining that he chaired the department of commerce from September 1953 until his retirement in May 1975. Along with introducing the track and cross-country program to Niagara University, he organized the first business fraternity on the campus, Alpha Kappa Psi. Through his generosity, Dr. Ockerman provided funds to the university for scholarships and the annual Ockerman Lecture.

Dr. James Kling, commerce department chair, was master of ceremonies. The event also included remarks from the Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., president of Niagara University, Dr. Timothy Downs, vice president for academic affairs, and Dr. Shawn P. Daly, dean of the College of Business Administration. The lecture featured Jack Ampuja, executive-in-residence at Niagara University and president of Supply Chain Optimizers, who discussed “Post-Graduate Lessons in Life from a Grizzled Executive.”

This day of recognition allows for the celebration of academic achievement with students, faculty, friends and family, and to remember a person who has made a difference in the lives of Niagara University students.

View additional photos from the event here.

Below is a listing of the honorees.

• Nicholas Beauchamp
• Reese Bedient
• Sarah Best
• Kimberly Brent
• Ashley Christina
• Gino Corasantini
• Jason Cutler
• Kimberly Daunce
• Benjamin Dinehart
• Michelle Diodate
• Michel Dubois
• Eric Glatz
• Joseph Lapoint
• Jessica Martinez
• Alex Nowocien
• Emily Read
• Kevin Rhodes

• Michael Federspiel
• Peter Pane
• Paige Reitmeier
• Catherine Smith

• Britney Aiello
• Madison Doud
• Nicole Marshall
• Kathryn Martin
• Michael Meng
• Jordan Roe

• Alyssa Fazio
• James Lumadue
• Mitchell Piper
• Taylor Segarra
• Kimberly Vona