Eleven Students Inducted into Communication Honor Society

April 28, 2012  |  by Michael Freedman

  • The newest members of Lambda Pi Eta are, l-r, Jeannine Alsous, Vince Schiano, Kaitlyn Bayne, Molliann Zahm, Julie Hunt, Alicia Wainwright and Alex DiVirgilio. Kerisa Bonville, Stacey Czerwinski, Sean Farber and Amanda Galster are not pictured.

Eleven Niagara University students became lifetime members of Lambda Pi Eta, the honor society for undergraduate communication students, during an induction ceremony held April 28.

“Because of your outstanding academic achievement in both the communication studies department and at Niagara University, it is with great honor that I extend an invitation for you to become a member of Lambda Pi Eta,” said Dr. Doug Tewksbury, an assistant professor of communication studies who also serves as the faculty advisor of NU’s Omicron Iota chapter of Lambda Pi Eta.

The following students are the newest members of Lambda Pi Eta:

  • Jeannine Alsous (of Lewiston, N.Y.)
  • Kaitlyn Bayne (Williston Park, N.Y.)
  • Kerisa Bonville (Fairport, N.Y.)
  • Stacey Czerwinski (North Tonawanda, N.Y.)
  • Alex DiVirgilio (North Tonawanda, N.Y.)
  • Sean Farber (Carbondale, Pa.)
  • Amanda Galster (Cicero, N.Y.)
  • Julie Hunt (Wayland, N.Y.)
  • Vince Schiano (Gates, N.Y.)
  • Alicia Wainwright (Little Falls, N.Y.)
  • Molliann Zahm (West Seneca, N.Y.)

To be eligible for the Omicron Iota chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, NU students must possess a cumulative grade point average (G.P.A.) of at least 3.50, a major G.P.A. of at least 3.50, and have earned at least 60 credits at Niagara, with at least 12 of those credits earned within communication studies.

Honorees received a recognition pin, a certificate of achievement and an honor cord that can be worn with their regalia at graduation to signify their achievement.

Lambda Pi Eta is the nationally recognized undergraduate honor society of the National Communication Association, an academic and professional organization created in 1914. It is the largest professional association for the study of communication in the world. Since 2003, Niagara has hosted a university chapter of the honor society to recognize the achievements of its communication studies students.

For more information on Niagara University’s communication studies programs, please call 716.286.8285 or visit www.niagara.edu/communication