Sigma Alpha Sigma Honor Society Holds 80th Tapping Ceremony

April 8, 2013  |  by Michael Freedman

  • Sigma Alpha Sigma

    Sophomore Courtney Corbetta inscribes her name into the book of Sigma Alpha Sigma inductees during Friday's induction ceremony.

  • Sigma Alpha Sigma

    The Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, NU president, presents the Outstanding Freshman Award to Amanda Karaszewski.

  • Sigma Alpha Sigma

    Father Levesque presents the award for Outstanding Sophomore to Crystal Lorenzo.

  • Sigma Alpha Sigma

    Father Levesque welcomes attendees to the 2013 Sigma Alpha Sigma induction ceremony.

  • Sigma Alpha Sigma

    Nanette L. Harmon, lecturer of American Sign Language, offers the event’s keynote address.

Sigma Alpha Sigma, the undergraduate honor society of Niagara University, inducted new members from the Classes of 2013, 2014 and 2015 at its 80th Annual Tapping Ceremony on April 5, 2013, at the Castellani Art Museum.

The Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, C.M., university president, inducted 36 students into Sigma Alpha Sigma, a selective society established by the Niagara Class of 1933 to recognize and reward the academic and extracurricular achievements of outstanding students. The purpose of the organization also includes creating an incentive for undergraduate students and fostering an example of high standards.

Father Levesque was joined by current Sigma Alpha Sigma officers Andrea Nicolia (president), James Kemnitz (vice president), Chelsea Recor (secretary) and Andrea DeRosa (treasurer) in presenting cords to new and honorary inductees.

Nanette L. Harmon, lecturer of American Sign Language, provided the event’s keynote address.

Amanda Karaszewski, an education major from Kenmore, was named this year’s Outstanding Freshman while Crystal Lorenzo, a Fredonia native studying psychology and Spanish, took home the award for Outstanding Sophomore.

Additional photos on Niagara University’s Facebook page

Congratulations to this year’s Sigma Alpha Sigma inductees:

  • Andrew Adolf (Theatre Performance/Lancaster, N.Y.)
  • Kelsey Atwater (Mathematics/Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Christian Beaucage (Criminal Justice/East Syracuse, N.Y.)
  • Emily Bork (Spanish/Kenmore, N.Y.)
  • Steve Boyle (Finance/Grand Island, N.Y.)
  • Catherine Cardinal (Criminal Justice/Freeville, N.Y.)
  • Kristina Chartrand (Marketing/Honeyoye Falls, N.Y.)
  • Courtney R. Corbetta (Communications/Lewiston, N.Y.)
  • Gina DelGreco (History/Moon Township, Pa.)
  • Benjamin Dinehart (Accounting/Penn Yan, N.Y.)
  • Stephan F. D’Urso (Political Science/Brooklyn, N.Y.)
  • Michael M. Federspiel (Finance/Lewiston, N.Y.)
  • Kevin Flynn (Accounting/Fairport, N.Y.)
  • Ethan Froelich (Criminal Justice/Rome, N.Y.)
  • Derek Hammerl (Criminal Justice/Rosendale, N.Y.)
  • Molly J. Hyland (English, Special Ed 7-12/Grand Island, N.Y.)
  • Elizabeth Jankowiak (Liberal Arts, Special Ed 1-6/Orchard Park, N.Y.)
  • Marissa McCarthy (Math, Special Ed 7-12/Buffalo, N.Y.)
  • Kyle Meyers (Criminal Justice/Penn Yan, N.Y.)
  • Edmond C. Moloney (Criminal Justice/Rock Tavern, N.Y.)
  • Michael Mucci (Psychology/Grand Island, N.Y.)
  • Matthew Nadler (Political Science/New Rochelle, N.Y.)
  • William Olszewski (Criminal Justice/Skaneateles, N.Y.)
  • Erika Osberg (Psychology/Grand Island, N.Y.)
  • Allison Radley (English, Special Ed 7-12/Penfield, N.Y.)
  • Paige Reitmeier (Finance/Kenmore, N.Y.)
  • Nathaniel Resila (History & Religious Studies/Schenectady, N.Y.)
  • Kevin Ryan (Finance/Eden, N.Y.)
  • Marc A. Skill (Hotel & Restaurant Management/Dayton, Ohio)
  • Matthew Stevens (Criminal Justice/Churchville, N.Y.)
  • Eric Stoutenburg (Biochemistry/Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Leanne Michelle Stuck (Communications/Amherst, N.Y.)
  • Kimberly Vona  (Marketing/Angola, N.Y.)
  • Mitchell Willie (Criminal Justice/Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
  • Laura C. Yost (Biochemistry/Nichols, N.Y.)

Honorary inductees included:

  • Dr. Brian Bennett, chair and associate professor of religious studies
  • Karin Crumb Kosmala, facility designer
  • Dr. Phong Le, assistant professor of mathematics
  • Sandra Mann Ormsby, director of university events
  • Cheryl Wilson, assistant to the dean of the College of Education

The name of the Sigma Alpha Sigma society signifies the scholastic, athletic and social achievements of its members. Admission to the group remains the highest undergraduate honor and is based upon a comprehensive and elaborate point system used to evaluate student participation.

Originally, the yearly tapping ceremony was held in conjunction with “Moving Up Day.” The induction ceremony has been held annually with the exception of a three-year suspension during World War II. The ritual of induction for new members has remained an enduring tradition.

However, some traditions have been broken, while others have been instituted. Women first entered the society in 1947. Outstanding Freshman and Sophomore Awards were established in 1970 and 1976, respectively, to recognize an accomplished member of each class.