Since 1975, Niagara University College of Business Administration has held the Everett W. Ockerman Lecture and Award Presentation to recognize the business seniors who have achieved a 3.5 (and above) overall grade point average. This year, on Sunday, Sept. 24, at the Niagara Falls Country Club, over 50 business seniors were recognized for their academic achievements.

The awards ceremony is named after Dr. Ockerman, a faculty member for 30 years at Niagara who served as chair of the department of commerce for 25 years. He retired in 1975, but continues to have an impact on current Niagara students.

Ockerman Awards | 09.24.17

Dr. Ockerman generously provided the university funds for the Ockerman Scholarship and for an annual event to recognize graduating seniors for their hard work in achieving academic excellence.  

Dr. Christopher Wright, associate professor of management and chair of the management department, served as the emcee for the event. Dr. Jim Kling, associate professor of management, provided the invocation, reminding those in attendance that perseverance and hard work have led them here, and that God’s grace has provided this celebration.

Gerald Janan, ’58, shared his recollections of his former professor, Dr. Ockerman, in his talk, “Remembering Doc Ock.’ He shared his story of growing up in Father Baker’s orphanage and meeting Dr. Ockerman at Bishop Timon High School, where he was recruiting for Niagara’s cross country and track team.

“I truly believe that God has a purpose for each and every life,” Janan said. “When He is helping us to accomplish our purpose and reach our full potential, I believe He sends us instrumental people to help us reach that end. For me, one of those people was Dr. Ockerman.”  

Faculty from the four business departments presented certificates to the students. Dr. Tenpao Lee, interim dean, provided the dean’s remarks recognizing Dr. Ockerman’s commitment to the university and encouraging the students to continue to give back.

The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., president of Niagara University, provided the closing remarks, relating Janan’s talk on Dr. Ockerman to the spirit of St. Vincent de Paul, the patron saint of Niagara University. Referring to Dr. Ockerman, Father Maher described “a man who dedicated his life to helping students reach their full potential.” He also offered his gratitude “to the faculty of our College of Business Administration, the immensely talented men and women who share Doc Ock’s passion and commitment to seeing our business majors succeed.”

This day of recognition allows for the celebration of academic achievement with students, faculty, friends and family, and to remember a person who has made a difference in the lives of Niagara University students.

Below is the listing of the student honorees:


  • Marissa Akiki
  • Emily Andrews
  • Brian Churpita
  • Kelly Coddington
  • Brett Delles
  • Bridgette Ehrmann
  • Daniel Fleming
  • Jeffrey Garcia
  • Kevin Grzeskowiak
  • Robert Lehning
  • Matthew Lesinski
  • Sergio Lujan
  • Jacob Martineau
  • Samantha Martineau
  • Toni Martinucci
  • Michael McGee
  • Kirsten Nice
  • Jakob Rickettson
  • Amanda Robinson
  • Maria Sciarrino
  • Khadijah Smith
  • Allyson Thomas


  • Natalia Antropova
  • Domenic Conroy


  • Kristina Bourret
  • Brandon Czerwinski
  • Nam Do
  • Joel Gerberich
  • Michaela Goodnight
  • Connor Hudson
  • Daniel Hughes
  • Angela Kendt
  • Briana Krawczyk
  • Madison Lindsay
  • Bailey Milleville
  • Linh Nguyen
  • Alexander Pease
  • Tyler Randle
  • Matthew Schiavi
  • Troy Snelgrove
  • Cameron Tinney
  • Rachel Wisely
  • Adam Wisely
  • Cara Wolcott
  • Domenic Zendano


  • Akshay Bedi
  • Gabriel Buck
  • Brooke Cummings
  • Zackary Kephart
  • Kayla Laforest
  • Francesca Rockwood
  • Megan Rogers
  • John Samuelson
  • Amber Thiel

Your Thoughts