The 44th Annual Everett W. Ockerman Lecture and Award Presentation

The Niagara Falls Country Club was the perfect setting for the 44th annual College of Business Everett W. Ockerman Lecture and Award Presentation this past Sunday, September 29, 2019.    Named after Dr. Everett W. Ockerman, who served as the chair of the department of commerce for 25 years before he retired in 1975. Dr. Ockerman generously provided Niagara funds for the Helen K. and Everett W. Ockerman scholarship and for this annual event, recognizing graduating business seniors for their hard work in achieving academic excellence. 

Dr. Paul Richardson, professor of marketing and chair of the marketing dept. served as the Emcee for the event. Reverend Aidan R. Rooney, C.M., vice president for mission integration provided the Invocation. A wonderful brunch was enjoyed by all with fellowship between students, parents, faculty, and special guests.  

George J. Neimanis, emeritus professor, provided the Ockerman Memorial Lecture. Neimanis taught at Niagara from 1970 - 2002 in the Economics Dept.  and served as chair from 1975-1984. He discussed how he was hired by Dr. Ockerman and shared stories of his experiences with Everett and Helen Ockerman.

Special guests Mr. Jerry Janan ’58 and his wife Judy attended the luncheon and have been attending since the beginning. Jerry was recruited to attend Niagara by Dr. Ockerman, “Ockey” as he refers to him and credits him for his education, earning his bachelor’s degree in business and then master’s degree. Also in attendance was Joann Reedy who was one of the first students to receive the Ockerman award in 1975.

38 seniors were recognized for quite the academic achievement, an overall grade point average of 3.5 and above and received certificates of achievement during the ceremony. Dr. Mark Frascatore, Dean of the College of Business provided the closing remarks and offered his congratulations to the students and remarked to the parents the pride and accolades for their child’s accomplishment . This day of recognition allows for the celebration of academic achievement with students, faculty, friends and family, and to remember a special person, Dr. Ockerman, who has made a difference in the lives of Niagara University students.

Below is the listing of the student honorees:


  • Alyssa Benton
  • Malik Davis
  • Liam Donovan
  • Thinh Duong
  • Jadiel Flores-Medina
  • Amy Garrison
  • Dylan Giles
  • Rohit Gogna
  • Emily Jacus
  • Brandon Margeson
  • Shannon Martineau
  • Bernard McGrath
  • Matthew Mietlowski
  • Lauren Paul
  • Andreea Peteu
  • Derek Stoberl
  • Rodney Walker
  • Joshua Wilson


  • Nicolette Radomski


  • Jonathan Billings
  • Madison Buchholz
  • Katherine Culkin
  • Marissa Del Monaco
  • Tyler Hayes
  • Jessica Lachner
  • Rachael Paige
  • Christopher Rhinehardt
  • Sean Ryan
  • Kristopher Spriggs
  • Ronald Walke


  • Jenna Barone
  • Amy Breslin
  • Madeline Dallessandro
  • Matthew Hess
  • Beth Moran
  • Rosa Rosario
  • Kylee Schultz
  • Absalom Solorio

Accounting honorees and faculty

IMG 0468 2 resized

Finance honoree and faculty

IMG 0471 resized

Marketing honorees and faculty

IMG 0478 2

Management honorees and faculty

IMG 0475 4

Your Thoughts