Eleven Niagara University students became members of Phi Delta Phi, the international legal honor society, during an induction ceremony held April 26 in Dunleavy Hall.

The following students comprised the first class of Niagara University Phi Delta Phi inductees:

  • Nevie Beal
  • Dustin Dorsino
  • Megan Farnham
  • Alexandra Filips
  • Gagan Kamboj
  • Marreana LaMorticella
  • Calen Monahan
  • Tabita Saraj
  • Christopher Selak
  • Molly Smarr
  • Matthew Tobolski

Also inducted into Phi Delta Phi was State Supreme Court Justice Richard Kloch Sr.

Phi Delta Phi is the oldest legal organization in continuous existence in the United States, predating even the American Bar Association. It was founded in 1869 at the University of Michigan School of Law by four law students, who, at the urging of their faculty, endeavored to create an association that would foster scholarship, civility and ethical conduct in the profession. Since that time, Phi Delta Phi has grown beyond the borders of the United States to Canada, Latin America and Europe.

The total initiated membership of Phi Delta Phi exceeds 200,000 persons. More judges, American presidents, governors, senators, representatives, cabinet members, ambassadors, American Bar Association presidents, Association of American Law School presidents and law school deans have come from the ranks of Phi Delta Phi than from any other legal society.

Niagara University offers a pre-law advisement program for students who are interested in law and plan to attend law school. The university also has an academically based student organization known as the NU Pre-Law Student Association, which co-hosts the Western New York Law School Fair, a fall trip to the LSAC Law Forum, a spring trip to the United States Supreme Court and other preparatory experiences.

For more information on Niagara University’s pre-law advisement program, please contact Dr. Peter Baxter at ude.aragain@bjp or visit www.niagara.edu/prelaw.