The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M.

The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., president of Niagara University, has been appointed to vice president of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) for the 2019-20 academic year. Following his one-year term as vice president, Fr. Maher will serve a two-year term as the president of the MAAC. 

“I look forward to working with Father Maher in his role as vice president and subsequently president of the MAAC,” said Rich Ensor, commissioner of the MAAC. “He has not only established himself as a strong university president, but will bring to these roles extensive leadership in student support and collegiate athletics.”

The MAAC was founded in 1980 by six charter members and currently has 11 institutions competing in 23 different sports within the conference. The conference operates with a critical focus on the principles of quality and integrity in academics and excellence in athletics.

The appointment to vice president continues Fr. Maher’s leadership work in college athletics. Fr. Maher was named to the NCAA Division I board of directors in 2016, and for the past year he has served as a member of the NCAA board of governors.

This most recent appointment adds to the impressive list of leadership roles that Father Maher holds as a servant leader. He is a trustee of DePaul University and is on the board of directors for the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU). Additionally, he sits on the boards of the Darwin Martin House Complex and the Buffalo Niagara Partnership, a privately-funded, economic development organization and the largest regional chamber of commerce in Western New York. He previously served on the University and Collegiate Executive Committee of the Fair Labor Association and was a leading member of the Global Alliance for Workers and Community.

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference

With 11 institutions strongly bound by the sound principles of quality and integrity in academics and excellence in athletics, the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) is in its 39th year of competition during the 2019-20 academic year. Current conference members include: Canisius College, Fairfield University, Iona College, Manhattan College, Marist College, Monmouth University, Niagara University, Quinnipiac University, Rider University, Saint Peter’s University, and Siena College.

Your Thoughts