On Tuesday, October 9 Niagara University’s College of Education held its Alumni Recognition Dinner in the Russell J. Salvatore Dining Commons. The event, subtitled “Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence,” recognized ten alumni who had been honored throughout the course of the last year.


Dr. Chandra Foote, dean of the College of Education, presented the following recognitions:


Distinguished Service Award

Niagara University

Dr. R. Michael Smith, ’97, ‘16

M.S.Ed. Foundations and Teaching



2018-19 Horizons Elementary Teacher of the Year Award

Polk County Public Schools, Fla.

Jennie Cyran, ’07 ’09

B.A. Special Education and Childhood 1-6 English

M.S.Ed. Literacy Instruction B-6


2018 Toronto Catholic District School Board Innovative Exemplary Practice Award

St. Jude Catholic School, Ont.

Paolo De Buono, ‘12

M.S.Ed. Early Childhood and Childhood Education B-6


2018 New York State United Teachers WNY Leadership Award

Hyde Park Elementary, Niagara Falls City School District, N.Y.

David Glahe, ’96

M.S.Ed. Elementary Teacher Education


2017 The Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year and The Sgt. A. Percy King Award from the Florida PTA

Walker Middle Magnet School, Hillsborough, Fla.

Mallory Kolacki, ’12

M.S.Ed. Special Education 1-6


2018 Leadership Niagara Alumni of the Year

Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda UFSD, N.Y.

Dr. Michael Lewis, ’08

M.S.Ed. Educational Leadership School District-Building


2018-2019 Lincoln County Schools Teacher of the Year

Lincoln County Schools, N.C.

Gillian Moore, ’06

B.A. Education 5-12 Math


2017 Teacher's Choice for Teacher Voice Blogger of the Year by Teaching Channel

Lyndonville Central School District, N.Y.

Dr. Elissa Smith, ‘16

Ph.D. Leadership and Policy


2018 Lewiston-Porter United Teachers (LPUT) Teacher of the Year

Lewiston-Porter Senior High School, N.Y.

Amy Townsend, ’98 ’99

B.A. Social Studies 7-12

M.S.Ed. Foundations of Inclusive Special Education


2018 Niagara Falls Teachers Local 801 Distinguished Service Award

GJ Mann Elementary School, Niagara Falls City School District, N.Y.

Joanne Washcalus, ’95

M.S.Ed. Foundations and Teaching


Niagara University's College of Education is one of only ten institutions in New York State who has received the prestigious Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) accreditation. Niagara is also the only university in New York to be accredited in both the United States and Canada. The College of Education is housed in the university’s Academic Complex, a state-of-the-art facility that features model Pre-K-12 classrooms, cutting-edge instructional technology (such as SMART Board and interactive whiteboards), interactive teaching labs, and a literacy center. Coupled with a teaching studio, teacher candidates have multiple opportunities to develop their portfolios and instructional skills to the highest levels.