Students receiving awards during this year's NUSGA leadership gala were, from left, Kathryn Dickie, Janene Ennis, Kyra Rieker, Britini D’Angelo, Rebecca Wood, Jacey Diez, and Michael Kobito.

The Niagara University Student Government Association held its sixth annual leadership gala May 1 at the Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls.

Honoring students who excel in service and leadership, and demonstrate the core values of the university, the event recognized the work of the NUSGA cabinet and legislative body, along with club and club sport officers, and award recipients.

The gala was planned by NUSGA’s outreach and advancement committee and hosted by Nick Palisano, student body president, and Jenna Roberts, student body vice president.

Serving as keynote speaker was Dr. Todd Schoepflin, associate professor of sociology, who spoke to student leaders about balancing positivity and realism when motivating others.

After receiving over 75 nominations and applications, the leadership gala award panel selected seven of the university’s most outstanding leaders for core value awards and individual achievement awards.

The following award recipients were recognized during the gala:

  • Leader of the Year: Kyra Rieker
  • Vincentian Spirit Award: Rebecca Wood
  • Spirituality: Britini D’Angelo
  • Knowledge: Kathryn Dickie
  • Creativity: Jacey Diez
  • Integrity: Janene Ennis
  • Compassion: Michael Kobito

Your Thoughts