Britini D’Angelo, the 2017-2018 president of Sigma Alpha Sigma, is pictured with the Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., president of Niagara University.

Sigma Alpha Sigma, the undergraduate honor society of Niagara University, inducted new members during its 84th annual tapping ceremony April 19, 2017, at the Castellani Art Museum.

The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., university president, inducted 20 students into Sigma Alpha Sigma, a selective society established by the Niagara Class of 1933 to recognize and reward the academic and extracurricular achievements of outstanding students. The purpose of the organization also includes creating an incentive for undergraduate students and fostering an example of high standards.

Father Maher, who also offered closing remarks, was joined by current Sigma Alpha Sigma officers Eric Ebert (president), Christopher Fritschi (vice president), Richard Luczak (secretary) and Arianne Davidow (treasurer) in presenting cords to new and honorary inductees.

Katherine Culkin, a business management major from Chittenango, N.Y., was named this year’s Outstanding Freshman while Richelle Kloch, a North Tonawanda, N.Y., native studying criminal justice, received the award for Outstanding Sophomore.

The event’s keynote address was provided by Dr. Robert St. Hilaire, a Harvard-trained associate professor of religious studies at Niagara.

Congratulations to this year’s Sigma Alpha Sigma inductees:

  • Yasser Altaweel (Finance)
  • Kimberly Broconier (Accounting)
  • Erin Clark (Tourism & Spanish)
  • Britini D’Angelo (Theatre & Communication Studies)
  • Anna Eckhardt (Nursing)
  • Elizabeth Faxlanger (Accounting & Actuarial Science)
  • Emma Fermier (Supply Chain Management)
  • Julia Freemire (Biology)
  • Amanda Garry (Psychology)
  • Caleb Goldfus (Criminal Justice & Computer Science)
  • Brynne Guerne (Criminal Justice)
  • Zachary Ryan Kephart (Business Marketing)
  • Marreana LaMorticella (Integrative Business Management)
  • Cara Mergner (English)
  • Matthew Michienzi (Biochemistry/Pre-Med)
  • Nico Santangelo (Communication Studies)
  • Melanie Ulrich (Tourism / Event & Meeting Management)
  • Tatiana Van Vliet (Luxury Hotel Operation)
  • Holly Vulpis (Hotel & Restaurant Management)
  • Shannon Wilk (Psychology)

Honorary inductees included:

  • Debra Colley, Ph.D., Executive Vice President
  • Robyn Goacher, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • Luis Sanchez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • Thomas Scheira, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor of Education