The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., NU president, is pictured with Sigma Alpha Sigma officers Kelly Fitzpatrick (president), Amanda Karaszewski (vice president), and Kimberly Alexander (secretary).

Sigma Alpha Sigma, the undergraduate honor society of Niagara University, inducted new members during its 83rd annual tapping ceremony on April 13, 2016, at the Castellani Art Museum.

The Rev. James J. Maher, C.M., university president, inducted 20 students into Sigma Alpha Sigma, a selective society established by the Niagara Class of 1933 to recognize and reward the academic and extracurricular achievements of outstanding students. The purpose of the organization also includes creating an incentive for undergraduate students and fostering an example of high standards.

Father Maher, who also offered closing remarks, was joined by current Sigma Alpha Sigma officers Kelly Fitzpatrick (president), Amanda Karaszewski (vice president), Kimberly Alexander (secretary) and Ifat Razzaque (treasurer) in presenting cords to new and honorary inductees.

Shannon Wilk, an Academic Exploration Program major from East Amherst, N.Y., was named this year’s Outstanding Freshman while Cara Mergner, a Pipersville, Pennsylvania, native studying English, received the award for Outstanding Sophomore.

The event’s keynote address was provided by Dr. Michael Barnwell, a Yale-trained philosophy professor at Niagara who received the university’s Excellence in Teaching Award in 2013.

Sigma Alpha Sigma & 'Who's Who' | 04.13.16

Congratulations to this year’s Sigma Alpha Sigma inductees:

  • Katherine Brunette (Education)
  • Christine Burke (English and Philosophy)
  • Domenic Conroy (Economics)
  • Arianne Davidow (Theatre Performance)
  • Dianna Derigo (Psychology)
  • Dustin Dorsino (Finance)
  • Courtney Doxbeck (Psychology)
  • Eric Ebert (Biology/Chemistry)
  • Jake Eberth (Sociology)
  • Chris Fritschi (Chemistry)
  • Karen Harty (Theatre Performance)
  • Claire Hull (English)
  • Courtney Jones (Childhood and Special Education)
  • Richard Luczak (Education)
  • Greg Maiola (Sport Management)
  • Christopher Musselman (Hotel/Restaurant Management)
  • Danielle Rosini (English Special Education)
  • Rebecca Saggiomo (Education)
  • Taylor Sanders (Biology)
  • Melissa Wright (Biology)

Honorary inductees included:

  • Dr. Michelle Ciminelli, Assistant Professor of Education
  • Dr. William Edwards, Professor of Biology
  • Dr. Esteban Mayorga, Assistant Professor of Modern and Classical Languages

Also recognized during the event were the students chosen for Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities, an honor conferred by more than 1,000 universities and colleges nationwide. Students chosen for the award are the young adults who enhance the positive image of American youth through their contributions to community and school. Nominations must be endorsed by Niagara’s faculty or administration.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Carl Bailey (Hotel/Luxury Hospitality Operations)
  • Rachel Bailey (Spanish)
  • Elizabeth Beebe (Nursing)
  • Kelley Biro (Psychology)
  • Jacob Blaisdell (Hotel/Planning, Development & Operations)
  • Jon Borek (Sport Management/Operations)
  • Kristen Cavalleri (Communications)
  • Selena Cerra (Education 5-12/Spanish)
  • Jake Eberth (Sociology)
  • Janene Ennis (Education)
  • Elena Feliz (Theatre Studies/General)
  • Kelly Fitzpatrick (Tourism/Destination Management)
  • Erin Green (Nursing)
  • Emily Gibson (Tourism/Event and Meeting Management)
  • Rachel Gromlovits (Communications)
  • Dominic Hannon (Communications)
  • Karen Harty (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Olivia Herberger (Nursing)
  • Paxton Hill (Communications)
  • Jasmine Hinaman (Biology)
  • Anna Krempholtz (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Marina Laurendi (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Erin Leppien (Nursing)
  • Khallid Lewis (Hotel/Planning, Development & Operations)
  • Kathleen Macari (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Christopher Musselman (Hotel/Food and Beverage Management)
  • Briana Neale (Social Work)
  • Michael Paglicci (Sport Management/Operations)
  • Nick Palisano (Biochemistry)
  • Nichole Pascucci (Education)
  • Peter Raimondo (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Kyra Rieker (Marketing)
  • Lexany Rivera (Marketing)
  • Jenna Roberts (Hotel/Luxury Hospitality Operations)
  • Kyle Schwindler (Criminology/Criminal Justice)
  • Jillian Stoessel (Education)
  • Alexis Tymorek (Marketing)
  • Alexander Utz (Theatre Studies/Performance)
  • Sarah Volmy (Sociology)
  • Vivi Vongkhily (Nursing)
  • Amy Wnuk (Biology)
  • Nick Wojcicki (Sport Management/Operations)

To learn more about Niagara University, please visit

Photos by Andrew Emmons, an NU sophomore studying communications, and criminology and criminal justice.

Your Thoughts