Dr. Naranjo, Dr. Tidemann and Dr. Mark Frascatore, Dean

The Holzschuh College of Business Administration recently celebrated the completion of the 2022-2023 academic year with the annual end of year dinner. It provided a moment for fellowship and to acknowledge the efforts and successes of the faculty and staff within the college.

Three faculty were recognized for their excellence in research, service and teaching. Congratulations to Dr. Fernando Naranjo, Excellence in Research, Dr. Krieg Tidemann, Excellence in Teaching and Dr. Galina Boiarintseva, Excellence in Service.

The Excellence in Research award was presented to Dr. Fernando Naranjo, assistant professor of management. Dr. Naranjo joined Niagara University in August 2021, after completing his doctorate degree at Ivey Business School at Western University in Canada.

His research is in lean management and his most recent publication, “Lean Supply Chain Management: A Contextual Contingent Reconceptualization and Delphi Method Study” was published in the International Journal of Operations and Production Management. An active researcher, he has several manuscripts under review and in process.  

Dr. Naranjo's research has appeared in several outlets and has been published in multiple proceedings of academic and managerial conferences, such as the Academy of Management (AOM), Production and Operations Management (POMS), and International Purchasing and Supply Education and Research Association (IPSERA). In addition, he recently was the keynote speaker at the Universal Congress of Science and Research conference, UTA Ecuador.

Dr. Krieg Tidemann, assistant prof of economics received the Excellence in Teaching award. Dr. Tidemann joined the faculty in the fall of 2019 after completing his Ph.D. in economics from Syracuse University.  

Dr. Tidemann teaches several undergraduate courses including principles of microeconomics, intermediate microeconomics, labor economics, and economics of the public sector.  He also teaches the MBA economics for managers course and applied econometrics at both the graduate and undergraduate level. He actively integrates outside practitioners and business professionals into his classroom.

Dr. Tidemann emphasizes the student-centered mission of Niagara and finds value in one-on-one learning opportunities for students with in-class activities as well as supervising students on individual research projects in his Applied Econometrics course. He has been a driving force in engaging students in Niagara’s annual Undergraduate Research Conference. Several of his students have presented their regression analysis projects as part of the UGRC. This semester long process allows student to conduct individual research and develop important skills including collecting data, conducting regression analysis and vital presentation skills. 

The Excellence in Service award was awarded to Dr. Galina Boiarintseva, assistant professor of management. Dr. Boiarintseva joined the faculty in December 2019 after receiving her Ph.D. from York University’s School of Human Resource Management, Toronto (Canada).

Boiarintseva’s service commitment is especially key to Niagara’s Vaughan campus and includes working closely with the City of Vaughan for the last three years. She organized the academic component for the Vaughan Summer Program, a program designed to support young city entrepreneurs on their journey to building successful businesses. She also developed and delivered workshops for the City of Vaughan with their Emerging Leaders Program. The program is designed to assist the City’s management team with additional skill development.

Boiarintseva invests her time in building strong relationships with existing and incoming students in the MBA program. She organizes and runs the welcome receptions for the MBA cohorts in Ontario, as well as events and activities to promote networking and relationship-building among graduate students.

Dr. Mark Frascatore, Dean, congratulated each of the award winners on their success, “Each year at the end of the spring semester, the college recognizes faculty for excellence in each of the three essential functions of a professor – teaching, research, and service. This year’s Teacher of the Year Award went to Professor Krieg Tidemann. Dr. Tidemann is widely regarded as an intelligent, approachable teacher who is genuinely interested in his students’ success. The Researcher of the Year Award went to Professor Fernando Naranjo. Dr. Naranjo is in just his second year at NU, but has already registered an “A Journal” publication with the recent acceptance of his paper in the International Journal of Operations and Production Management. The Service of the Year Award went to Professor Galina Boiarintseva. For the last three years, in addition to her normal committee work, Dr. Boiarintseva has been the driving force in planning and implementing student, faculty, and external functions at our campus in Vaughan, Ontario. Congratulations to our three faculty award recipients!”

 awardees photo