Sean Patterson is all smiles after receiving a pin honoring his academic achievement, scholarly learning, professional dedication, and Christian commitment during the College of Nursing's traditional pinning ceremony.

Sixty-eight students in Niagara University’s College of Nursing participated in a time-honored tradition when they were presented with pins signifying academic achievement, scholarly learning, professional dedication, and Christian commitment during a ceremony on Friday, May 13, 2022, in the Gallagher Center on the university’s campus.

Margarita Coyne, associate dean of NU’s College of Nursing, welcomed students and their families to a ceremony that included remarks and reflections by the Rev. James J. Maher, C.M, Niagara University president; the Rev. Aidan R. Rooney, C.M., vice president for Mission Integration; and Dr. Christine Verni, dean of the College of Nursing. Music was provided by theatre students Ryan Henneberger and Gabrielle Iacona.

DAISY awards were also presented to faculty member Dr. Maria Frosini-Gadawski, a 2000 alumna of the college, for her exceptional impact on her students and her inspirational influence on their future, and to students Madilyn Wiles and Joshua Zon for their commitment to extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate patient care.

During the ceremony, the students’ hands were blessed and anointed, and they were led in the recitation of the Nurse’s Creed by Dr. Frosini-Gadawski.

Father Rooney blessed the pins, which have been bestowed upon and proudly worn by more than 3,500 Niagara nurses to acknowledge their entry into the nursing profession. The newest Niagara nurses to receive pins were:

Traditional Program:
June Aiu
Katelyn Audin
Tara Balsavage
Brianna Barbiero
Kailey Bartnicki
Victoria Bogucki
Jessica Bonafede
Samantha Burden
Thomas Burgio
Kaila Cooper
Maya Davis
Ariana DiMarco
Carl Ebrus
Erica Flagler
Miah Gnagnarelli
Kennedy Gormel
Skylar Jenks
Zachary Ketchmark
Madison LaGrou
Jack Mazzara
Ireland Meenan
Jenna Michael
Sean Patterson
Jessica Pukos
Madison Rastello
Sam Rider
Jessica Robertson
Aleena Roland
Hannah Rosenberg
Elle Russell
John Scime
Amber Sherwood
Victoria Skrlin-Kozak
Andrea Sortore
Emma Stulir
Ashley Thielman
Riley Tollar
Moira Werner
Paige West
Megan Wheeler
Kathryn Zieziula
Joshua Zon

Jean DiFonzo
Tina Owens

Accelerated Program
Chloe Albert
Amanda Belmona
Jamie Brooks
Rochelle Cataffo
Nicholas Chalifoux
Marie Cuccia
Gabrielle Della Penna
Tara Finlayson
Matthew Haick
Joshua Josey
Sara Larocca
Meghan Macguire
Ryan Martin
Jaspreet Mathaun
Abigail Mulkerin
Lydia Newton
Sofia Paulino
Nicole Rice
Hailey Sheridan
Hanlin ‘Elliot’ Song
Anna Todd
Hunter Warner
Madilyn Wiles
Thomas Williams

Niagara University has a long history of nursing education with a proud legacy of successful and engaged alumni. Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), Niagara University's College of Nursing offers offer two different degree programs: a bachelor of science degree in nursing and a one-year accelerated B.S. in nursing. For more information, visit